Ignoring the Barking Dogs

Roughing It – Going Beyond “Boondocking”

I guess I should explain the word “Boondocking.” It is normally used in the RV’ing world for camping in one’s camper or RV without the benefit of any hookups for water, electricity, or sewer. So, in our case for this vacation, “boondocking” takes on a different connotation. Some of our online RV’ing friends can’t see themselves doing the “sleeping bag thing.”

We have a nephew that is a contract employee for the Air Force in what I’ll simply call a “Middle-Eastern” country. He came home on his annual one month vacation and we all (him, his mother [my wife’s sister], Jo and I and our youngest son) went camping up northwest of Boulder, Colorado at a place called Camp Dick.

Camp Dick information at Reserve America

The nephew was delighted that he finally had someone that would go camping with him for more than just a few days. In the instances before, his camping involved driving up one day and setting up camp, having a full day the next day, and then having to break camp and go home on the third day.

To some degree, I was disappointed as I had to leave our Select Comfort mattress at home and suffice with simply an air mattress. Secondly, I was disappointed because I didn’t see a single large critter of the “wildlife” nature, even though a moose cow and her calf generally passes near to our campground in the early morning and the evening. It just didn’t happen that our paths crossed where I could get a picture. We even were up at a place called Coney Flats and my son saw a moose crossing a pond there. However, he wasn’t quick enough to get his camera ready to take a picture. But, at least he got to see the moose.

A few pictures:

Cooking a meal – L to R – Our youngest son, Jo, nephew (in hat) and his mother.

DSC_0792

 

Campsite and our vehicles – and yes, the pickup is a full-sized Ford F150, dwarfed by our nephew’s Jeep Rubicon (raised and with big tires).

DSC_6831

The Middle Saint Vrain Creek

DSC_6991

DSC_7041

Hiking a trail up to Peaceful Valley Campground and then back on the road to Camp Dick. It was about a 2 mile hike. Jo’s sister has had a hip replacement, and while she will go walking or hiking, it has to be at a pretty slow pace. She loves doing it though.

DSC_6968

One of our nephew’s passions is off-roading in his Jeep Rubicon. When he gets the opportunity, he takes it and goes off in his Jeep. He first took all of us to Coney Flats where they had camped out before and then returned us to Camp Dick. The next day, he also had the opportunity to take our “campground neighbors” up and back the same way. Here is one shot of the road to Coney Flats. Oh, and I should add that the road at this point is pretty wide. In other places, Pine branches were brushing both sides of the Jeep at the same time.

DSC_4908

At Coney Flats, there is a short water crossing. I had suggested that it would be a nice picture if one could be on the other side and take pictures of him crossing the pond. So, he drove across and let us all out and then drove back across in order to come back and give us the opportunity to get pictures. My youngest son took some pictures from one perspective (straight at the Jeep), and I took pictures from a slight angle. Here is one of my photos of the crossing.

DSC_7082

This next picture is of the group walking up to a meadow at Coney Flats. The mountains in the background are – L-R – Coney Island, Sawtooth, and Red Deer.

DSC_7100

 

This next image is of Coney Creek, which is feeding the pond in the water crossing above.  In some internets sites, they state that the “pond” is really just a widening of the creek and not a true pond.  I guess they don’t realize that there can be natural ponds such as the one at Coney Flats.

DSC_7095

While our nephew won’t finish his contract with the Air Force until mid-2016, next year’s vacation is up in the air. While he likes to camp in places like Coney Flats (no facilities whatsoever), I think I prefer to have water spigots and toilets nearby for my convenience. Camp Dick serves well in that capacity as they have three vault toilets and 4 water spigots scattered throughout the campground.


Oh, and they have bears, but I never got to see one.

Bummer.

I guess I can take some solace in that we have a great nephew in this young man.  A few months back, he instructed his mother to loan me a couple of his camera lenses if I wanted to use them.  As it turns out, I already had one, so I only wanted to borrow the one.  However, considering the price of the lenses, he is still very trusting.  He even wants me to use his Jeep while he is still overseas because he wants someone to be “exercising” and maintaining it.  Here are a few pictures of it.  However, I have guaranteed him that I won’t be exercising his Jeep on any roads like the Coney Flats road.

DSC_7070

DSC_7069

DSC_7072

When the snows come and I go traipsing off into the wilds for winter pictures, I think his Jeep will come in very handy.  For someone that has never really been fond of cold weather, I think I’m really looking forward to this winter.  Time will tell, I guess.

This entry was published on August 28, 2014 at 5:41 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Roughing It – Going Beyond “Boondocking”

  1. Gary Jones on said:

    Beautiful country…great family

    • You are right on both points, Gary. We even look forward to taking our daily walk(s) because of the various things of beauty that are here to enjoy. I also love taking pictures of what we see so we can share them.

      Terry

  2. Ed Boland on said:

    Hi Terry and Jo! I read your comment on the RVDF and want to thank you for your concern!!! I thought it was best to just follow the forum and not comment at least for a while.
    All I was trying to do was make conversation with a couple member I posted with before. Guess I stepped into the wrong one that day. I really thought Kathy was more cordial than she had responded. Claimed she wasn’t directing it at me personally. If not; My bad!!
    Oh well! Maybe one day I will return but at this time I can be contacted at the email below!

    Hope all is well and you are enjoying the retirement???

Leave a Reply

